L'Ecolière

L'Ecolière

Cirque du Freak

The saga of Darren Shan

Cirque du Freak

A living nightmare...

Darren Shan

 

Book review :

Darren Shan is an ordinary boy fascinated by spiders. His best friend, Steve, brings to school an advertisement about the Cirque du Freak, a freak show. The boys decide to be present at the next performance. Among the freaks, the boys' attention is hold by Mr Crepsley and his giant spider. If Darren's amazement is understanding, Steve is captivated by something else. At the end of the show, Steve comes back to the Cirque du Freak in the middle of the night. He cracked the secret of Mr. Crepsley - he is a true vampire - and he wants to become one. In spite of the threat of being revealed, Mr. Crepsley refuses to turn Steve into a vampire, accusing him to be evil. Darren, who saw everything, is astonished : how Steve could be interested in the life of a vampire ? And was he really evil as Mr. Crepsley said ?

This book was a good surprise ! I found it well-written and very accessible. It was pleasant to read ! If I wasn't very tempted at the beginning, the story soon caught my attention. J.K. Rowling said about this book that it is "a plot full of twists that leaves the reader hungry for more". I agree with this. I thought the way Darren Shan linked the evens was very clever.

The introduction presents the story as a joke. I thought I was going to laugh a lot when I read the first pages. But I didn't. I didn't find it especially funny, I even found the end a little bit tragic. What surprised me is the lack of distance. The narrator and the author are supposed to be the same person and what the narrator tells us is not happy at all : he recounts how he lost his family and how his best friend became his worse ennemy. He tells us his story as a writer and not as a character. I expected to read something sad and dark... It was... just surprising. I am not disappointed at all ! But I admit this uncertain atmosphere disrupted me. Maybe this is a trick from the author to assure us the genuine outcome of this story is in fact very happy. 

I would like to read the next episode of this saga. I enjoyed it : I thought it was pleasant to read, the plot was well made and the end left me impatient to know what's going to happen !

 

The author explain this ambiguity of mood on his website :  www.darrenshan.com You can find more information about the saga, the author and other books by Darren Shan. 

 

Revue littéraire :

Darren Shan est un garçon ordinaire fasciné par les araignées. Son meilleur ami, Steve, ramène une publicité à l'école sur le Cirque du Freak, un spectacle de monstres. Les garçons décident d'assister à la prochaine représentation. Parmi les monstres, l'attention des garçons est retenue par Mr. Crepsley et son araignée géante. Si l'ébahissement de Darren est compréhensible, Steve est captivé par autre chose. A la fin du spectacle, Steve revient au Crique du Freak au milieu de la nuit. Il a percé le secret de Mr. Crepsley - c'est un vampire - et il veut en devenir un. Malgré la menace d'être découvert, Mr. Crepsley refuse de transformer Steve en vampire, l'accusant d'être mauvais. Darren, qui a tout vu, est stupéfait : comment Steve pouvait-il être intéressé par la vie de vampire ? Et était-il vraiment maléfique comme Mr. Crepsley l'a dit ?

Ce livre était une bonne surprise ! Je l'ai trouvé bien écrit et accessible. C'était agréable à lire ! Si je n'étais pas très emballée au début, l'histoire a bientôt attiré mon attention. J.K. Rowling a dit à propos de ce livre qu'il était "plein de rebondissements qui laisse le lecteur affamé pour la suite" . Je suis d'accord. J'ai pensé que la façon dont Darren Shan a enchaîné les événements était très intelligente.

L'introduction présente l'histoire comme une blague. Je pensais que j'allais rire beaucoup quand j'ai lu les premières pages. Mais non. Je n'ai pas trouvé ça particulièrement drôle, j'ai même trouvé la fin un peu tragique. Ce qui m'a surprise c'est le manque de recul. Le narrateur et l'auteur sont supposés être les mêmes personnes et ce que le narrateur raconte n'est pas gai du tout : il retrace comment il a perdu sa famille et comment son meilleur ami est devenu son pire ennemi. Il nous raconte son histoire comme un écrivain mais pas comme un personnage. Je m'attendais à lire quelque chose de triste et de noir... C'était... juste surprenant. Je ne suis pas déçue du tout ! Mais j'admets que cette atmosphère incertaine m'a perturbée. Peut-être est-ce une astuce de l'auteur pour nous assurer que la fin véritable de cette histoire est très heureuse. 

Je voudrais lire le prochain épisode de cette saga. J'ai bien aimé : j'ai pensé que c'était agréable à lire, que l'intrigue était bien construite et la fin m'a laissée impatiente de savoir ce qui va se passer !

  

3gCDF1-220x336.jpg



08/07/2014
0 Poster un commentaire

A découvrir aussi


Ces blogs de Littérature & Poésie pourraient vous intéresser