L'Ecolière

L'Ecolière

The Beautifull Cassandra - Jane Austen

The Beautifull Cassandra 

Jane Austen

(short novels)

 

 

Book review :

Did you know ? Jane Austen, one of the most famous authors of 19th century, began writting stories since her childhood.  These works were gathered in her   Juvenilia, of which   The Beautifull Cassandra   is an extract from. In fact, the edition of the Penguin Classics contains three short novels and three letters. The first one is untitled   Jack and Alice. I liked the ending, which was quite unexpected, but I didn't undestand the moral of the story. It tells us about Alice, desperately in love with the fascinating Charles Adams. But the latter doesn't share her feelings and appears particularly pretentious. The woman he will marry  must possess  Youth, Beauty, Birth, Wit, Merit and Money. Alice, with her weakness for alcohol, doesn't correspond to his demand. The story ends with Charles's wedding and we learn the name of the successful candidate who is not, to my mind, the model of vertue I expected. This woman is aware of Alice's love since the beginning and she did nothing really  effective to reason her. She appeared to be quite manipulative in the whole and I didn't find her better than other girls.

cassandra.jpg

  So, what does it mean ? Is it against Charles Adams who wanted a perfect wife and who chose nothing more than the shadow of perfection ? Or is it just a parody of love story, as Jane Austen  will excell in this kind of literature when she become an accomplished writer ? I should agree with my second hypothesis. I think Jane Austen chose the character the most surprising to  show how laughable can be love novels. 

My favorite short novel was  The Beautifull Cassandra. Cassandra (probably inspired from Jane Austen's sister Cassandra) is sixteen years old and she wants to leave her family  to become rich. But, after a few adventures which just last seven hours, she comes back home, in the arms of her mother, with this sentence : "this is a day well spent". Again, it is my favorite story because of what I personally thought. I saw in this novel an ordinary young girl, with dreams of money and adventures. At the end,  she realises  this is audacious  for a sixteen-year-old girl to throw herself in town as she did, but also that this improvised trip made her grow up.

I won't remember a lot of things from the last novel and the three letters. I just enjoyed the last letter, "A Letter from a Young  Lady, whose feelings being too Strong for her Judgement led her into the commission of Errors which her Heart disapproved". I thought it was well written and  I enjoyed the irony which made me smile. :-)

 

Revue littéraire :

 Le saviez-vous ? Jane Austen, l'un des auteurs les plus connus du XIXe siècle, a commencé à écrire des histoires depuis son enfance. Ces travaux ont été rassemblés dans ses  Juvenilia, dont  The Beautifull Cassandra  est tiré. En fait, l'édition des Pinguin Classics contient  trois romans courts et trois lettres. Le premier est intitulé  Jack and Alice. J'ai aimé la fin, qui est assez inattendue, mais je n'ai pas compris la morale de l'histoire.  Elle nous parle d'Alice, désespérément amoureuse du fascinant Charles Adams. Mais ce dernier ne partage pas ses sentiments et se montre particulièrement prétentieux. La femme qu'il épousera doit  posséder la Jeunesse, la Beauté, une haute Naissance, l'Esprit, le Mérite et  l'Argent.  Alice, avec son penchant pour l'alcool, ne correspond pas à ses exigences. L'histoire s'achève avec le mariage de Charles et on apprend le nom de l'heureuse élue qui n'est pas, à mon avis, le modèle de vertu que j'attendais. Cette femme est au courant de l'amour d'Alice depuis le début et elle ne fait rien de très efficace pour la raisonner. Elle apparaît assez manipulatrice dans l'ensemble et je ne l'ai pas trouvée meilleure que les autres. Qu'est-ce que ça veut dire ? Est-ce que c'est contre Charles Adams qui voulait une femme parfaite et qui n'a choisi rien d'autre que l'ombre de la perfection ? Ou est-ce juste une parodie des histoires d'amour, comme Jane Austen excellera dans ce genre littéraire quand elle deviendra un écrivain accompli ? J'opterais pour ma seconde hypothèse. Je pense que Jane Austen a choisi le personnage le plus surprenant pour montrer à quel point les romans d'amour sont risibles.

Mon roman préféré était  The Beautiful Cassandra.  Cassandra (probablement inspirée de la sœur de Jane Austen, Cassandra) a seize ans et elle veut quitter sa famille pour devenir riche. Mais, après quelques aventures qui n'ont duré que sept heures, elle rentre à la maison, dans les bras de sa mère, avec cette phrase : "voilà une journée bien remplie"*. Encore une fois, c'est mon préféré à cause de ce que j'en ai pensé personnellement. J'ai vu dans ce roman une jeune fille ordinaire, avec des rêves d'argent et d'aventure. A la fin, elle réalise que c'est audacieux pour une jeune fille de seize ans de se jeter en ville comme elle l'a fait, mais aussi que ce voyage improvisé l'a fait grandir.

Je ne retiendrai pas grand chose du dernier roman et des trois lettres. J'ai juste bien aimé la dernière lettre, "Une Lettre d'une Jeune Femme, dont les sentiments étant trop Forts pour son Jugement l'ont menée dans la commission des Erreurs que son Cœur désapprouvait"*. J'ai trouvé que c'était bien écrit et j'ai apprécié l'ironie qui m'a  fait sourire. :-)

      

* traduction maison =)



17/07/2015
3 Poster un commentaire

A découvrir aussi


Ces blogs de Littérature & Poésie pourraient vous intéresser