L'Ecolière

L'Ecolière

The Perceval novels, book 1 : Perceval's Secret - C.C. Yager

The Perceval novels

Perceval's Secret

C.C. Yager

(book 1)

 

 

Book review :

Evan Quinn has just arrived in Austria to conduct the Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra. Europe appears to be a sacred place for artists, especially to Evan who is conducting his uncle's music, strictly forbidden in the USA. Just after the concert, he decides to leave America behind and to stay in Austria. Inspector Klaus Leiner is convinced that Evan is an American spy and keeps a close eye on him, hoping to collect evidence against him. In fact, Evan Quinn is defecting an enormous secret that could turn upside down the world...

My friend Cinda, the author of  Perceval's Secret, wrote a post on reviewing books.  I suggest you to follow the several trails she gave on her blog :

perceval.jpg

 

  • How did you come to read the particular book ? I met C.C.Yager on her blog    thanks to Wordpress's page "freshly pressed". One of Cinda's post, " Facing the blank page", was in the list and I was tempted to read it. It was very pleasant and I really enjoy  the writer's point of view. I subscribed to follow the blog and I have never left it.
  • What did you like about this book ? The background. It made me think about the great science-fiction novels I read, like Aldous Huxley's  A brave new world  or George Orwell's   1984  (both read in French, though). I found it very developed and truly interesting. In spite of the preface which told that this novel was nothing but a work of fiction, I couldn't help looking for what lead C.C.Yager to imagine such future world. I have never been to America, but I have an American friend who spent several years in France, with me. We regularly corresponded by letters and e-mails. When she came back for holidays years later, she had changed, of course, but nothing indicated marks of a dictatorship ! I thought about movies and series (most of French movies are American)... but I didn't find something convincing. So, why am I boring you with all these useless details? Because,  Perceval's Secret  showed me a view of the USA I wasn't accustomed to, inspired from reality or not. Another seducing aspects of the novel are the frequent allusions to music world. I am not a musician at all. Mum  tried to pass down her passion for harp and piano but it was a complete failure... So, I wasn't very receptive to this particularity, but it must be a great fun between fans !
  • What did you dislike in this book ? The hero !!! I loved him at the beginning. The first chapter is the most intense of the novel. I was fully captivated by all the sensations of the musical atmosphere (whereas it's not my cup of tea at all !). But more I was reading, and more Evan Quinn became a stranger. I have never succeeded to understand him. What I enjoyed the more on C.C.Yager's blog was the personal point of view. It was sensitive and so endearing... Good points I didn't rediscover with Evan Quinn. He was cold, and distant, he was a character among others.
  • Would you recommend this book to other readers ? Of course ! Yes,  Perceval's Secret  wasn't perfect to my mind, but C.C.Yager's language style is fluid, pleasant and the setting is all the more successful ! The main character is my only deception. The rest is very good !

Now, I catch your attention to C.C.Yager's blog a last time. It is untitled Anatomy of Perceval. You will be able to read her thoughts about writing and the development of the  Perceval Novels. To buy the first book, just click on this link. It is available on Amazon.

You can also visit the Yager Editing Services on their website : just click on the link.

 

Revue littéraire :

 Evan Quinn vient juste d'arriver en Autriche pour conduire l'Orchestre Philharmonique de Vienne. L'Europe apparaît comme un lieu sacré pour les artistes, surtout pour Evan qui conduit la musique de son oncle, strictement interdite aux USA. Juste après le concert, il décide de laisser l'Amérique derrière lui et de rester en Autriche. L'inspecteur Klaus Leiner est convaincu qu'Evan et un espion américain et garde un œil sur lui, espérant rassembler des preuves contre lui. En fait, Evan Quinn fuit un énorme secret  qui pourrait chambouler le monde...

 Mon amie Cinda, l'auteur de Perceval's Secret, a écrit un article sur l'écriture des chroniques. Je vous propose de suivre les quelques pistes qu'elle a données sur son blog :

  • Comment avez-vous été amené à lire ce livre ? J'ai rencontré C.C.Yager sur son blog, grâce à la page "freshly pressed" de Wordpress. L'un des articles de Cinda, "Facing the blank page" était dans la liste et j'ai été tentée de le lire. C'était très agréable et j'ai vraiment aimé le point de vue de l'auteur. Je me suis inscrite pour suivre le blog et je ne l'ai jamais quitté.
  • Qu'avez-vous aimé dans ce livre ? L'arrière plan. Il m'a fait penser aux grands romans de science-fiction que j'ai lus, comme Le Meilleur des mondes d'Aldous Huxley ou le 1984 de George Orwell (tous les deux lus en français, cependant). Je l'ai trouvé très développé et vraiment intéressant. Malgré la préface qui disait que ce roman n'était rien de plus qu'une oeuvre de fiction, je ne pouvais pas m'empêcher de chercher ce qui a conduit C.C.Yager à imaginer un tel monde futur. Je n'ai jamais été en Amérique mais j'ai une amie américaine qui a passé quelques années en France avec moi. Nous correspondions régulièrement par lettres et par e-mails. Quand elle est revenue pour les vacances des années plus tard, elle avait changé, bien sûr, mais rien n'indiquait les marques d'une dictature ! J'ai pensé aux films et aux séries... mais je n'ai rien trouvé de convainquant. Donc, pourquoi suis-je en train de vous barber avec ces détails inutiles ? Parce que, Perceval's Secret m'a montré une vision de l'Amérique  à laquelle je n'étais pas habituée, inspirée de la réalité ou pas. D'autres aspects séduisants du roman sont les allusions au monde musical. Je ne suis pas musicienne du tout. Maman a essayé de transmettre sa passion pour la harpe et le piano mais c'était un échec complet. Alors, je n'étais pas très réceptive à cette particularité, mais ça doit être vraiment bien entre passionnés !
  • Que n'avez-vous pas aimé dans ce livre ? Le héro !!! Je l'adorais au début. Le premier chapitre est le plus intense du roman. J'étais totalement captivée par toutes les sensations de l'atmosphère musicale  (alors que ce n'est pas du tout ma tasse de thé !). Mais plus je lisais, plus Evan Quinn devenait un étranger. Je n'ai jamais réussi à le cerner. Ce que j'ai le plus aimé sur le blog de C.C.Yager  était le point de vue personnel. C'était sensible et tellement attachant... Des qualités que je n'ai pas retrouvées avec Evan Quinn. Il était froid, et distant, c'était un personnage parmi d'autres. 
  • Recommanderiez-vous ce livre à d'autres lecteurs ? Bien sûr ! Oui, Perceval's Secret n'était pas parfait pour moi, mais le style de C.C.Yager est fluide, agréable et le contexte est tout ce qu'il y a de plus réussi ! Le personnage principal est ma seule déception. Le reste est très bien !


30/07/2015
1 Poster un commentaire

A découvrir aussi


Ces blogs de Littérature & Poésie pourraient vous intéresser